01795 255 600

Sales & Enquiries


  • Harry Dance
  • 19 Jun 2024

On October 5, 2023, the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 were published as a W3C Recommendation, introducing crucial updates aimed at improving digital accessibility for users with various disabilities.

Here’s what you need to know about the latest changes.

What's New in WCAG 2.2?

WCAG 2.2 builds upon the foundations laid by WCAG 2.0 and 2.1, adding nine new success criteria while removing one. This results in a total of 86 success criteria designed to make web content more accessible and user-friendly.. 

Key additions and changes

  1. Focus not obscured (minimum) (2.4.11, level AA): Ensures interactive elements and their focus indicators are not hidden by other content when navigated via keyboard. This is crucial for sighted keyboard users, enhancing navigation clarity and usability.
  2. Focus appearance (2.4.13, level AAA): Requires clear, visible focus indicators with specific size and contrast standards, aiding users in easily identifying focused elements on a page.
  3. Dragging movements (2.5.7, level AA): Provides alternative methods to dragging actions, supporting users with motor disabilities. For instance, instead of dragging items, users can perform the same actions using a single pointer click.
  4. Target size (minimum) (2.5.8, Level AA): Establishes a minimum size for interactive elements (24x24 CSS pixels) to reduce accidental activations, particularly beneficial for users with fine motor skill challenges.
  5. Consistent help (3.2.6, level A): Ensures that help mechanisms such as contact information are consistently placed across multiple pages, making it easier for users to find support.
  6. Redundant entry (3.3.7, level A): Prevents users from re-entering the same information during a process, thereby reducing cognitive load and simplifying form completion.
  7. Accessible authentication (minimum) (3.3.8, Level AA): Advocates for authentication methods that do not rely on memory, transcription, or cognitive tests, making it easier for users with cognitive impairments to log in.
  8. Accessible authentication (enhanced) (3.3.9, Level AAA): Supports the use of password managers and allows copying and pasting of credentials, further easing the authentication process.

Key Features and Benefits: 

  • Integration of Multiple Platforms: The solution integrates five distinct websites, allowing users to search all of them with a single query. 
  • Advanced Search Capabilities: Utilising Algolia’s AI search, the system provided keyword searching across various platforms, returning aggregated results categorised by the source website. 
  • Improved User Engagement: The search tool's ability to learn from user behaviour enabled it to deliver increasingly relevant results, enhancing user engagement and satisfaction. 
  • Upselling Opportunities: The search functionality also served as a powerful upselling tool, requiring subscriptions to access full content and driving sales of subscriptions and high-value reports​​. 

Implications for compliance

Adhering to WCAG 2.2 not only helps ensure compliance with WCAG 2.1 and 2.0 but also significantly enhances the user experience for people with disabilities. The guidelines focus on making web content accessible to a broader audience, including those with cognitive impairments and those using mobile devices.

Ensuring compliance 

For businesses and web developers, understanding and implementing these guidelines is crucial. Regular accessibility audits and leveraging automated tools can help identify and address common barriers, ensuring your digital content meets the latest standards.


If you would like to learn how we can make your website more accessible, please do reach out to us via the contact form or email hello@kayo.digital

Your digital partner

Join our newsletter

The newsletter trusted by some of the best marketers and business owners.

By pressing “Subscribe”, I agree I have read and accept the privacy policy

Thank you for subscribing!